As 2021 has ushered in a new presidential administration— and locally, Charlottesville is seeking a new city manager— the year also contains several local and state-level elections. With the weight of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, Virginians have the chance to vote incumbent or new voices into legislative and executive power.

Within the city of Charlottesville and neighboring Albemarle County, there are two city council seats, three city school board seats, city commonwealth attorney, three board of supervisor seats, and three county school board seats up for election this year.

Upcoming 2021 elections also include Virginia’s next governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general. For governor alone, there are three challengers — both established politicians and newcomers — to include a third party candidate.

The General Assembly’s House of Delegates is also up for election, with a handful of districts that touch the Charlottesville and Albemarle area.

Nov. 2 will be the general elections.

City of Charlottesville Official Sample Ballot

Albemarle County Elections Page for sample ballots by precinct

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

This page will be updated frequently with election information and candidate profiles.

For additional questions or news tips, contact reporter Charlotte Rene Woods at

Charlottesville City Council

City and County School Boards


Emily Dooley

Christa Bennett

Dom Morse

Lisa Larson-Torres

Leah Puryear


Graham Paige

Randy Zackrisson


Albemarle County Board of Supervisors

Charlottesville Commonwealth Attorney

Governor of Virginia

Lieutenant Governor

Hala Ayala (D)-Did not follow through on interview

Winsome Sears (R) – Did not follow through on interview


Attorney General

Mark Herring (D)

Jason Miyares (R) – Could not be reached

Virginia General Assembly

Del. Sally Hudson (D- House District 57)

Philip Andrew Hamilton (R- House District 57)


Jennifer Kitchen (D- House Distric 25)

Del. Chris Runion (R-House District 25) – could not be reached


Del. Rob Bell (R-House District 58) – could not be reached

Sara Ratcliffe (D- House District 58)


Benjamin Moses (D – 59) 

Matt Farris (R – 59) – did not follow through