Support Us Subscribe to Our EMail

To Our Weekly Newsletter

Send Us a Tip
Press Release
Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society Announces New President, New Board Members
Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society
Enlarge Image
Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society
Submitted Press Release | Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society | Friday, March 02, 2018 at 2:38 p.m.

The Board of Directors of the Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society, a private educational nonprofit organization announced today that Will Lyster has been named President of the Society effective February 14, 2018. The announcement comes on after the recent resignation of the Society’s previous President, Steven Meeks. At a special meeting of the Board of Directors, Lyster was reappointed to the Board and subsequently elected President. The Board of Directors accepted Mr. Meeks’ voluntary resignation and thanked him for his many years of service to the Society.


In the past week, the board has appointed two new directors, and welcomes Professor Ervin L. Jordan, Jr. and Ms. Sheila M. Ford. The board continues to speak with community members, stakeholders and specialists in local history and collections to identify qualified board members to help increase the diversity of the board.


The Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society promotes an appreciation of local history so that the past may shed light on the present and the future. The Society is a membership organization, open to all, and receives no continuing operating support from federal or state government. We operate thanks to membership fees, gifts and donations, and grants from private foundations.


Charlottesville Tomorrow’s comment policy
comments powered by Disqus