Travis O. Morris, Albemarle County

Travis O. Morris, Senior Deputy Clerk, Albemarle County Board of Supervisors

Where were you born (and raised, if different)?

I was born and raised in Charlottesville.

When and why did you move to the Charlottesville/Albemarle area?

I’ve always lived in Charlottesville/Albemarle area – after traveling around the State and considering moving I never found anywhere that compared to Charlottesville.

What neighborhood do you live in now?

I live in the Ridge Street neighborhood.

Family (spouse, kids, etc.)?

No spouse. No kids.

What is your alma mater and when did you graduate?

I’m a 2002 Graduate of Charlottesville High School, and I’m currently pursuing a degree in communications from the University of Phoenix.

What were you doing before you came to work for the City?

I was a Deputy Circuit Court Clerk with the Albemarle County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office for 6 ½ years.

Your job title is Senior Deputy Clerk, Albemarle County Board of Supervisors – what, in your own words, would you say you do?

There are a number of things that I do but three stand out:  I serve as the first point of contact between citizens and Board members; I attend all meetings of the Board of Supervisors and then transcribe into layman terms the actions taken by the Board; and I oversee all of the appointments to the various boards and committees of the Board.

What is the best part of your job? The most difficult part?

I know it sounds cliché, but in my opinion the best part of my job is having a direct view of the work that is actually put in, in trying to make the County the best place to live and work.

The most difficult part is on the very rare occasion when I have to explain to a citizen that I cannot do anything to take care of their issue, when I know everything that can be done at that particular moment is being done.

How does your job most directly impact the average person?

My job impacts the average person by me making sure Board members have access to all the information and materials needed for them to have the ability to give full consideration to the issues that come before them and for them to be able to make informed decisions in the best interest of the entire County.

What is the most interesting project or work experience that you’ve had while with the City?

The most interesting work experience that I’ve had while with the County would be the comparison of the job of Senior Deputy Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and Deputy Circuit Court Clerk and how the simplest mistake or error could affect the County in so many major ways.

What is a little-known fact about you?

I’m an excellent cook and am learning to play the saxophone, which is something that I’ve wanted to do since the 4th grade.

What do you do outside of work hours – hobbies, etc.?

I’ve become an avid reader.  I also spend a good amount of time traveling around the country with friends.