The 2015 Golden Apple Award winners.

Forty-two of CharlottesvilleAlbemarle’s public and private school teachers were recognized for their excellence in the classroom Thursday during the 2015 Golden Apple Awards.

Sponsored by Better Living Building Supply and Better Living Furniture, the awards honor outstanding teachers who are faculty members in any discipline at any level. Parents, students, colleagues and community members nominate the teachers to the Selection Committee, which selects one teacher from each school.

In addition to the Golden Apple Awards, Gabrielle Schoppa, a French and Technology teacher at Burley Middle School, received the 21st Century Learning Grant Award, which celebrates innovative teaching practices.

The 2015 Golden Apple Award Winners:

21st Century Learning Grant Award: Gabrielle Schoppa, Burley Middle.

Agnor-Hurt Elementary: Barbara J. Carswell
Albemarle High: Karin Anne Ryan
Baker-Butler Elementary: Beth A. Roesch
The Blue Ridge School: Jerry King
Broadus Wood Elementary: Brandon Flowers
Brownsville Elementary: Darci K. Palmer
Buford Middle: Lauralee Watlock
Burley Middle: Jesse Mercer
Burnley-Moran Elementary: Chris Lorigan
Cale Elementary: Lori Ann Stoddart
CATEC: Mary Lou Boyd, R.N.
Charlottesville High: Susan Jamme’
Clark Elementary: Katie Rogers
Community Public Charter School: Erika Pietrzak Pierce
Crozet Elementary: Brandy Alexandra Garbaccio
Greenbrier Elementary: Kena Lea Brandt
Greer Elementary: Sarah Scott
Henley Middle: Diana Pace
Hollymead Elementary: Robin Christine Aldridge
Jack Jouett Middle: Julie Stavitski
Jackson-Via Elementary: Hillary Pleasants
Johnson Elementary: Nancy Bailey Rickabaugh
Meriwether Lewis Elementary: Andrew W. Sherogan
The Miller School of Albemarle: Robert Wyllie
Monticello High: Lynn Nichols
Mountaintop Montessori: Micaela Raine
Murray Elementary: Hollins Mills
Murray High: Mary Kelly
Red Hill Elementary: Beth Kavounas
Scottsville Elementary: Christyne Clemson Fayard
St. Anne’s-Belfield School: Kayla McCray Carter
Stone-Robinson Elementary: Judith Meador Larrick
Stony Point Elementary: Julia Trammell-McGill
Sutherland Middle: Bill Briesemeister
Tandem Friends: Nancy Hiles Johnson
The Covenant School: Margaret Dixon Marshall
Venable Elementary: Diane M. Foraste
Walker Upper-Elementary: Minda Barnett
Walton Middle: Jennifer Graham
Western Albemarle High: Adam Mulcahy
Woodbrook Elementary: Leslie Wills-Taylor
Yancey Elementary: Shanice D. Gray