Credit: Credit: Albemarle County Public Schools

Albemarle County School Board Seeking Citizen Representatives to Serve on Long-Range Planning Advisory Committee for Jack Jouett, Samuel Miller, and Scottsville Magisterial Districts

The Albemarle County School Board is seeking applications from citizens who are interested in serving on one of its most influential citizen advisory groups—its Long-Range Planning Advisory Committee. Currently, there are committee vacancies for the Jack Jouett, Samuel Miller, and Scottsville magisterial districts. Terms are two years from the time of appointment, and applicants must live in the magisterial district for which they apply.

The Long-Range Planning Advisory Committee has a significant impact on the quality of public education in the county. Its responsibilities include developing capital improvement program recommendations for the Superintendent and School Board. Among the specific focus areas for committee members are school program capacity; enrollment and projections; transportation and operating efficiencies; creative financing and construction strategies; and the division’s requirements for innovative learning environments to accommodate its contemporary instructional model and its associated technology investments.

A full listing of the committee’s scope of work and operations is available at:

Applicants should have an interest in one or more of the following areas of study:

Members will interact with the School Board and the public through work sessions and community and focus group meetings before presenting its annual formal report in the summer.

A copy of the committee’s 2017 report is located at:

To download an application to serve, please click on the following link:

Applications are due by 5 p.m. on Friday, January 12, 2018, and can be filed online with the School Board Clerk at or at the School Board Office at 401 McIntire Road in Charlottesville, Room 345. The Board Clerk, Jennifer Johnston, also is available to answer questions or provide information about the committees at 434-972-4055.