Eric Strucko

(Samuel Miller) has been elected as Chair of the

Albemarle County Planning Commission

for 2009. Strucko, who has served on the Commission since 2006, serves as the Chief Financial Officer for the University of Virginia’s Health Services Foundation.

Jon Cannon

(Rio) will continue to serve as the Commission’s Vice Chair, but was not present at the meeting.

Strucko is a staunch supporter of the County’s Comprehensive Plan and has consistently opposed any efforts to expand the County’s designated growth areas. Strucko made two unsuccessful runs for the Board of Supervisors in 1999 and


as a candidate from the White Hall district.  He was appointed to the Planning Commission by Supervisor Sally Thomas after a move into the County’s Samuel Miller district. After taking the gavel, Strucko thanked Cal Morris (Rivanna) for his service as chair in 2008.

In other news, Commissioner

Linda Porterfield

(Scottsville) requested that the Planning Commission eliminate meetings held during the last week of each month. Morris said that staff should have the discretion to schedule that meeting when necessary. Commissioner

Marcia Joseph

(At-Large) agreed with Morris and said she did want to have long meetings. Porterfield said her concern was that there have been many recent meetings with light agendas.

Wayne Cilimberg, the County’s Director of Planning, said two regular meetings plus one work session each month should be sufficient due to the low volume of current applications.

Fania Gordon, Sean Tubbs, and Brian Wheeler


Interested in what we're working on next? Sign up for our weekly newsletter and never miss a story.