Stephanie Anderegg-Maloy, City Market Manager, City of Charlottesville

Where were you born (and raised, if different)?
I was born and raised in Charlottesville, Virginia.

What neighborhood do you live in now?
I live in Locust Grove.

Family (spouse, kids, etc.)?
James Maloy, Evan, who is 11, & Lily, who is 5.  We have a cat, Luke, and a new puppy, Roxy, who is a mini Dachshund.

What is your alma mater and when did you graduate?
I graduated from PVCC in 1995.

What were you doing before you came to work for the City?
I worked for a small incentive travel company in Crozet called Independent Travel Association.

Your job title is City Market Manager – what, in your own words, would you say you do?
I manager over 100 vendors and plan a wonderful special event every weekend, from April – December. 

What is the best part of your job? The most difficult part?
The best part is the actual market.  I love the market!  It is a wonderful place to be every Saturday.  It just makes me happy–all the wonderful smells, beautiful colors and interesting people.

The most difficult part is the paperwork and not having space for everyone that would like to participate.

How does your job most directly impact the average person?
The market impacts many people.  It offers an opportunity for consumers to purchase fresh local fruits and produce, as well as handmade arts and crafts.  The market also supports the local economy.  It gives Virginia residents the opportunity to sell their locally produced items.  The Charlottesville City Market has incubated many small businesses over the past 40 years.  Shenandoah Joe coffee started out at the city market with just a warehouse space for roasting coffee and now has grown to, I believe, three locations.

What is the most interesting project or work experience that you’ve had while with the city?
Setting up the market every season is interesting.  We try very hard to get the perfect mix of vendors and it is very challenging.

What do you do outside of work hours – hobbies, etc.?
I love to read, play with my kids and pets, spend time with my family and work out whenever I can.

image_printPrint

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.