Five of the eight independent candidates for City Council qualified for the ballot Credit: Credit: Virginia State Board of Elections

Three independents for City Council who had announced their candidacy and filed paperwork will not be on the ballot this November.

Nancy Carpenter, Clifford Hall and Dale Woodson had all launched campaigns but failed to qualify.

“The candidates listed as ‘not qualified’ for the ballot either did not submit enough qualifying petition signatures or did not submit all of the required forms by the deadline,” said Rosanna Bencoach, the city’s registrar.

Bencoach did not specify what each of the candidates failed to hand in by 7 p.m. on June 13. That was also the day of the Democratic and Republican primaries in Virginia.

In that race, Democrats Amy Laufer and Heather Hill won nomination for two Council seats and defeated incumbent Bob Fenwick. That will mean Council will have two new members when they first meet in January 2018.  

Laufer was elected to the Charlottesville School Board in 2011 and Hill is the president of the North Downtown Neighborhood Association and a former member of Charlottesville Tomorrow’s board of directors.

The pair of Democrats will now be on the ballot with five independents. They are Cassie Clawson, John Edward Hall, Kenneth Wayne Jackson, Paul Long and Nikuyah Walker. Bencoach said the Republicans did not nominate any candidates.

Jackson unsuccessfully ran in 2004 and Long made two unsuccessful bids in 2009 and 2011. Clawson, Hall and Walker are making their first bid for election.

This year will also mark the third consecutive election in which the Charlottesville school board race will be uncontested. Incumbents Leah Puryear and Juandiego Wade will be joined by newcomer Lisa Larson-Torres on the November ballot.

Ned Michie opted not to seek a fourth term but will not leave local affairs. He is the new president of the Greenbrier Neighborhood Association.

A fourth candidate, Serena Gruia, had submitted paperwork to run for the school board but did not qualify.

Seven candidates for City Council is not the most that have been on a general election ballot.

In 2011, there were a total of eight candidates but three Council seats were up for election that year. Democrats Kathy Galvin, Satyendra Huja and Dede Smith won handily over independents Scott Bandy, Brandon Collins, Paul Long and Andrew Williams. Fenwick also ran as an independent candidate that year before running as a Democrat in 2013.

In 2013, there were no independents. Fenwick and fellow Democrat Kristin Szakos defeated Republicans Mike Farruggio and Buddy Weber.

In 2015, Democrats Wes Bellamy, Kathy Galvin and Mike Signer won election over Republican Anson Parker and Libertarian Scott Bandy.  

In Albemarle County, there is one contested race for the Board of Supervisors and two contested races for the School Board.

Republican John Lowry is challenging incumbent Democrat Liz Palmer for the Samuel Miller District seat on the Board of Supervisors. However, incumbent Democrat Diantha McKeel is the lone candidate on the ballot for the Jack Jouett District and Democrat Ned Gallaway faces no opposition to succeed Democrat Brad Sheffield to represent the Rio District.

In the school board race for the Samuel Miller District, 2017 Western Albemarle High School graduate Julian Waters is challenging incumbent Graham Paige.

In the Rio District race, newcomers Katrina Callsen and Mary McIntyre are vying to replace the retiring Pam Moynihan.

Kate Acuff has no opposition in her bid for a second term representing the Jack Jouett District.

Election day is Nov. 7.