Brian Wheeler & Sean Tubbs in Charlottesville Tomorrow's newsroom Credit: Credit: Charlottesville Tomorrow

On Saturday the Virginia Press Association recognized Charlottesville Tomorrow with five first place awards for our brand of in-depth community news.

Charlottesville Tomorrow joined the VPA in 2012 and this was our first year of eligibility for their annual awards program.

On behalf of our entire staff and board of directors, we are honored to have this recognition and we want to thank you, our readers and supporters, for giving us this opportunity to work in this way for a better future in Charlottesville-Albemarle.

2012 Virginia Press Association awards to Charlottesville Tomorrow
[view all winning stories]

Courtney Beale & Brian Wheeler

FIRST PLACE, General news writing (online division)

Opponents of chloramines change course of water authority

Sean Tubbs & Brian Wheeler

FIRST PLACE, In-depth or investigative reporting (online division)

Western Bypass: A resurrected road plan gets a new design and scrutiny

Tim Shea

FIRST PLACE, Health, science and environment writing (online division)

Brian Wheeler

FIRST PLACE, Feature story portfolio (online division)

FIRST PLACE, Feature story writing (online division)
Camp feels shortchanged by dam deal

When we submitted our stories to the VPA for consideration, we shared that this entire body of work had also been published in our local daily newspaper through our unique content-sharing partnership.  That’s an important point, because many talented editors at The Daily Progress made these stories even better.

We are very thankful for the work of Jenny Rector, Elliott Robinson, Tristan Lejeune, Lee Wolverton (managing editor) and McGregor McCance (former managing editor and now a member of Charlottesville Tomorrow’s board of directors). We have learned a lot from these professionals and the news we are privileged to share with the community is better as a result.

I am thrilled that Sean Tubbs, who just celebrated his sixth anniversary at Charlottesville Tomorrow, has been recognized for his dedicated coverage of the U.S. 29 Western Bypass issue.  It’s also exciting to see that two of our interns, Courtney Beale and Tim Shea, were able to make such significant contributions and to have their efforts recognized by the Virginia Press Association. Well done!

Many of you also helped us tell these stories.  You trusted us with your story ideas, you allowed us to share your opinions, you pointed us in the direction of important information sources and you made gifts to support this work. Thank you.

Our goal is to connect you to vital information for making informed choices about our community’s future.  Awards are always nice and they offer some validation for our non-profit organization now in its eighth year of operations.  However, we are on a mission for this community, and that’s what is most important.

With your continued support, we will aim to provide even more of the best in community news in 2013.