The three Democratic candidates have won election to the Charlottesville City Council. Newcomers Holly Edwards and Satyendra Huja will join incumbent Mayor David Brown for a new four-year term on the Council. The ticket swept all eight of the city’s precincts.

With the eight precincts reported and with all absentee ballots counted, Satyendra Huja received 3,797 votes. Brown got 3,781 votes, Edwards got 3,711. Kleeman came in fourth with 2,212 votes and Haskins came in last with 2,111 votes.

Huja and Edwards replace outgoing Councilors Kendra Hamilton and Kevin Lynch. They’ll take over at the first of the year.

For more information on where the candidates stood on the issues during the campaign, visit Charlottesville Tomorrow’s Election Watch 2007 page.

Sean Tubbs


Interested in what we're working on next? Sign up for our weekly newsletter and never miss a story.