Charlottesville Tomorrow was honored Saturday at the annual Virginia Press Association News & Advertising Conference as the best news site in Virginia among the members of the online division.

Charlottesville Tomorrow received 24 awards for our brand of in-depth community news.  The recognition includes 10 first place awards, six of which were for news writing, 2 best in show for writing and photography, the news sweepstakes for best online publication, and top honors for best website along with first place awards in photography and multimedia categories.

To win the Virginia Press Association’s sweepstakes award, Charlottesville Tomorrow had to accumulate the most total points across multiple categories. Charlottesville Tomorrow scored 42 points in the writing, graphics and digital categories.

On behalf of our entire staff and board of directors, we are honored to have this recognition and we want to thank you, our readers and supporters, for giving us this opportunity to work in this way to create a better community in Charlottesville-Albemarle.

We are also thankful for the support of our news partners at The Daily Progress, especially for the work of editors Jenny Rector and Elliott Robinson, managing editor Lee Wolverton and publisher Keely Byars. We continue to learn from these professionals and the news we are privileged to share with the community is better as a result.

2014 Virginia Press Association awards to Charlottesville Tomorrow
[view all winning stories]

Tim Shea

FIRST PLACE, Feature story writing (online division)

Changing cafeteria culture a big order

FIRST PLACE, Feature series or continuing story (online division)

Families left out of Albemarle pre-K program

FIRST PLACE, Feature writing portfolio (online division)

FIRST PLACE, Multimedia news report (online division)

Albemarle Supervisor presses for CATEC move as enrollment dips [with interactive timeline]

Sean Tubbs

FIRST PLACE, Business and financial writing (online division)

FIRST PLACE, Government writing (online division)

Sean Tubbs, Maggie Ambrose & Effie Nicholaou

BEST IN SHOW, Online writing

FIRST PLACE, General news writing (online division)

In-depth coverage of key issues in local government’s FY 2015 budgets

Lacey Naff

FIRST PLACE, Online slideshow or gallery (online division)

Main Street Agriculture Celebration

Brian Wheeler

BEST IN SHOW, Online photography

FIRST PLACE, Photography – General news photo (online division)

From microwave parts to telegraphs, Albemarle students show they can make it

Charlottesville Tomorrow

FIRST PLACE, Best website (online division)


Business and financial writing



Education writing

SECOND PLACE, Reuben Jones

THIRD PLACE, Michelle Delgado

Feature story writing

SECOND PLACE, Sean Tubbs – Caramont Farm contributing to Albemarle cheese culture

THIRD PLACE, Michelle Delgado – Charlottesville, Albemarle schools embrace refugee students

Feature series or continuing story

SECOND PLACE, Sean Tubbs, Effie Nicholaou, Reuben Jones, Michelle Delgado & Brian Wheeler – A year following the redesign planning for Charlottesville’s West Main Streetscape

THIRD PLACE, Sean Tubbs & Effie Nicholaou – Route 29 Vortex – A design competition re-imaging the future of U.S. Route 29

Government writing

THIRD PLACE, Effie Nicholaou

Health, science and environmental writing


In-depth or investigative reporting

THIRD PLACE, Maggie Ambrose & Brian Wheeler – Bicyclists getting tickets need to watch the road, and court computers

In our third year as a VPA member, we also have some repeat winners. 

Sean Tubbs, who just celebrated his eighth anniversary at Charlottesville Tomorrow, has been recognized for a third year in a row with a first place award for news writing.  Sean’s news reporting was recognized with seven total awards.

Tim Shea was recognized for a third year in a row with a first place news writing award, this year in three separate categories for his coverage of public education in Charlottesville-Albemarle.  Tim’s writing and multimedia content were recognized with four total awards.

Brian Wheeler Charlottesville Tomorrow’s executive director for the past ten years, has been recognized for a third year in a row with an award for in-depth or investigative reporting.  Brian’s writing and photography were recognized with four total awards.

Also for a third year, our hard working interns have won awards.  Maggie Ambrose (2 awards), Emily Berg, Michelle Delgado (3 awards), Reuben Jones (2 awards), Lacey Naff (3 awards) and Effie Nicholaou (4 awards) were all recognized for their news reporting by the Virginia Press Association.

Many of you also helped us tell these stories.  You trusted us with your story ideas, you allowed us to share your opinions, you pointed us in the direction of important information sources and you made gifts to support this work. Thank you.

Informed citizens create better communities

Our goal is to connect you to vital information for making informed choices about our community’s future.  With your continued support, we will aim to provide even more of the best in community news in 2015.


Interested in what we're working on next? Sign up for our weekly newsletter and never miss a story.